Our Plan

I left off the Re-Welcome post with our new found dream to retire early and travel the world.

As I said, this inspiration came from listening to The Expat Chat podcast. We listened to stories of people who left their lives behind to commence full time travel. For the vast majority, they were required to create some sort of online earning potential that made this possible.

We had already planned to retire early sometime within the next ten years. The intention behind this was that we would never have to work again. It is likely that we would have done some work, but there wouldn’t be the requirement to do so for financial reasons. To us, that is what early retirement means.

Bruny Island Cheese Platter

For us, early retirement means plenty of afternoons like this… and maybe a little bit of work.

So this got us thinking… Was there a way that we could continue this plan but instead of retiring early to a life of hanging out at home, retire to a life of travelling? As we were already planning to have the financial means to do so, this would mean that it was unnecessary for us to come up with a way to make money on the road. This is still an interest of both of ours, but there is no requirement to ensure we can make money while we travel.

Additionally, if we were going to hit the road travelling, then buying a house- something that would be an enormous financial setback to our plans- likely was not the best option. Renting would not only be a lot more affordable, but it would give us the flexibility to go travelling when we were ready. As it is also likely we may have to relocate for our jobs in the next 5-10 years, the idea of renting continued to sound like a positive.

Poopsie has three children, the youngest of whom is 10. In eight years time, she will be 18 and have graduated from high school. As there is a requirement for Poopsie to pay child support until that time, we thought making eight years our goal to be ready was a good place to start. Paying child support without a regular income would very quickly eat into our savings.

In eight years time, we want to be financially independent and able to quit our jobs and commence a life of slow travel. As Poopsie has children and by then I will have nieces and nephews, and because we love our families, we will definitely return to Australia on a semi-regular basis. However, when we do, we will be staying with friends and family, rather than living in our own place.

Sure, we may become financially ready before the eight year mark in which case, we will probably cut the chord earlier. But at this stage, eight years is the goal. During that eight years, we still want to travel, so we have ensured we set money aside for this. This may slow down the ultimate goal of retiring early, but it is just not something we are willing to compromise on. All of our other expenses (except child support) are open for negotiation and we will be working hard to minimise them in order to maximise our savings.

Kellie at Bay of Fires

This is how I spend most of my time… thinking about early retirement.

December 2023 is when Poopsie’s daughter will finish high school.

Bring it on!

So who are we?

Before we delve too far into the blog, I thought it best if I properly introduce us.


That’s me, eating some delicious oysters on a recent trip to Tasmania. I am 28 in a couple of weeks and I work for the Australian Government in a HR position. I have worked there since I graduated from university in 2009.

In my spare time, I like to read, write and dabble in sports such as tennis, squash and golf.


This is Poopsie celebrating his last birthday, 41. He works for the same government department as me (that’s how we met) but in the IT area. This is fortunate as I don’t know anything about IT- he’s my very own tech support.

In his spare time, Poopsie likes reading and working out. He also enjoys cooking and is excellent at it, so he is our main household cook.

Poopsie has three children from a previous marriage who live in another state. They visit us on school holidays. Both of our parents live in the same area as his children, so it makes things convenient as we can visit all three at the same time.

Us Together

Poopsie and I live in Newcastle which is a small city about two hours north of Sydney, Australia. I have only just moved back here after spending a year in Canberra for work. We love Newcastle and intend to retire here. We may need to relocate again for work, but we will always want to return.

Together, we enjoy bushwalking (or hiking to those from the USA). Australia is a beautiful and picturesque country, and the bushwalking opportunities are endless. We haven’t done this a lot but in 2016 plan to do it a lot more.

We are both very interested in travel. I did a fair bit of solo travel in my early 20s and Poopsie has also done some travel. However, we have never travelled overseas together. We will be rectifying this in August with a trip to visit friends in Washington D.C and a side-trip to New York City. We intend to travel a great deal and have made efforts to ensure we save for this in addition to early retirement.

That’s us in a nutshell. We’re normal, average people who are choosing a different path in life. Some think we’re a bit weird for doing so, but we are confident we’re heading in the right direction.

It is my intention to be fairly candid on this blog, particularly regarding our financial information. As such, we wish to remain anonymous, hence all photos will either have our faces blurred out or cut off.



It has been over six months since I wrote the Welcome post here… and then promptly neglected the blog and never wrote again.

Recently, I have been reading a number of blogs and thought to myself, as I have so many times before, I should really write a blog. It was only when coming to set it up did I see that I had actually published that first post. I thought I had just saved it- apparently not!

Not too much has changed since that first post. Poopsie and I continued to live our lives around 5.5 hours apart. However, just a week before Christmas, I moved in with him and we are now set to start our lives living together full time. I can’t wait.

Since before we got together, we enjoyed discussing personal finance and early retirement with each other. I had long been a fan of personal finance, starting with The Simple Dollar and eventually graduating and loving Mr Money Mustache. It was MMM that I introduced Poopsie to back when we were just friends, and he was hooked as well.

Since getting together, early retirement has been our goal but it has always been largely driven by me. A few months ago, I found  Frugalwoods which helped re-ignite the passion for us both. We started making solid plans, running numbers but somehow kept coming up short. Obsessed with buying a house in a ridiculously overpriced NSW market, we couldn’t make the numbers work as well as we wanted them to. Yes, we could still retire early with a paid off house, but we wanted it quicker and we wanted more freedom to travel in the process.


Poopsie and I

In December 2015, I had a very long upcoming road trip so I wanted to download some podcasts. I was searching around some popular and recommended ones when I came across The Expat Chat.

Suddenly, everything changed.

I listened to interviews with people who had given up the rat race and embarked on a life of constant travel. Some were retirees, some were early retirees and some were digital nomads who made their income online, allowing them to be anywhere in the world while they worked. The stories were incredible. Poopsie quickly started listening as well and we were both hooked.

Independently, we both started to wonder if we could work constant travel into our early retirement plan. As I am the chief number-runner of the family, I started to look at whether or not this was possible. We were delighted when we realised it was, and getting to the point where we could retire early and travel the world became our new goal.

Join us on our journey there.